Cricket World Cup History and Winners

Every sport has a world cup but some are bigger events than others and the Cricket World cup is one of the biggest. Held every four years, it’s a premier contest in one-day cricket and one of the most-watched sporting events in the world.

History of the Cricket World Cup

The event is organised by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC) The first ever World Cup was help back in June 1975 in England and the competition remained in London England until 1987. From the 1987 tournament which was help in India, hosting has been shared between countries under an unofficial rotation system, with fourteen ICC members having hosted at least one match in the tournament.

The fastest field sports


The Cricket World Cup is open to all members of the International Cricket Council, but the highest-ranking teams receive automatic qualification for the tournament. The remaining teams are determined via the World Cricket League and the ICC World Cup Qualifier.

A total of twenty teams have competed in the eleven editions of the tournament, with fourteen teams competing in 2015; the most recent 2019 tournament only had ten teams.

The most popular sports in the world


Australia has won the tournament five times, and won the treble in 1999, 2003 and 2007. India and West Indies twice each, and Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England once each. England’s only win was at the recent 2019 tournament where they beat New Zealand, the match was tied but England won on boundary count.

The most skilful sports

List of Winners

1975 was hosted in England. West Indies (291-8 beat Australia by 17 runs.

1979 was hosted in England. West Indies (286-9) beat England by 92 runs

1983 was hosted in England. India (183) beat West Indies by 43 runs

1987 was hosted in India. Australia (253-5 beat England by 7 runs

1992 was hosted in Australia. Pakistan (249-6) beat England by 22 runs

1996 was hosted in Pakistan. (245-3) beat Australia by 7 wickets

1999 was hosted in England. Australia (133-2) beat Pakistan by 8 wickets

2003 was hosted in South Africa. Australia (359-) beat India by 125 runs

2007 was hosted in West Indies. Australia (281-4) beat Sri Lanka by 53 runs

2011 was hosted in Bangladesh (277-4) beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets

2015 was hosted in Australia & New Zealand. Australia (186-3) beat New Zealand by 7 wickets

2019 was hosted in England. England beat New Zealand, the match was tied but England won on boundary count.

The rise of T20 Cricket

2023 ICC World Cup

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the men’s Cricket World Cup, scheduled to be hosted by India from 9 February to 26 March 2023. This will be the first time the competition is held completely in India (Three previous editions were partially hosted there) 

The greatest cricket players of all time

T20 World Cup

The first ever ICC T20 World staged in South Africa in 2007.  The event is held every 2 years and this years event will be held in Australia betweenOctober and November.

Women’s World Cup

The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup was first tournament held in England in 1973. Matches are played as One Day Internationals over 50 overs.  There is T20 Wold Cup.

2022 ICC Women’s World Cup 

The ICC Women’s Cricket World New Zealand 2022, started on 4th March Finish with the final on 3rd April.

PledgeSports is a revolutionary crowdfunding & sponsorship platform dedicated to sport.

For all the latest sports news follow PledgeSports on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.


Create a Campaign Get in touch

Looking for more information? Why not send us a quick message below and we'll get back to you shortly.


They are speaking about us

Design by Lightbox