close

Welsh No 1 Table Tennis Player

Charlotte Carey

  • 55.33% funded
  • £ 830.00 pledged
  • Days Left

View Project

Support

My name is Charlotte Carey, I’m 19 years old and a professional table tennis player from Wales, currently holding the title of Welsh No 1 Table Tennis Player and in need of your help to prepare for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

My history

I started playing table tennis when I was 9 years old. I begged my Grandfather to take me with him to a local club he attended, but for ages he told me I was too small. Finally the day came where I could just about see over the table. He brought me along and I’ve loved the sport ever since.

I worked my way into the Welsh table tennis squad and represented Wales for the first time at 11 in a schools event.

Three years later I was playing in my first Commonwealth Games in Delhi. Four years later I won a European table tennis medal.

I am now the 3-time under 18′s singles, 4-time under 21′s singles, 2-time senior, 4-time mixed doubles and 4-time women’s doubles National Table Tennis Champion. I am also the 2-times British and Irish schools table tennis champion.

As a junior, I competed for Wales in 5 European Youth Table Tennis Championships and 2 World Junior Table Tennis Championships, and in 2013 I won a bronze medal at the European Youth Championships in doubles.

I played on many World junior circuits and won a total of 13 medals, gold, silver and bronze. I have also made the World Junior Circuit top 12 finals 3 times.

The present

I’m currently the Welsh senior number 1. I have played for the Welsh senior team in 4 European Championships, 6 World Senior Championships and two Commonwealth Games (Delhi 2010 and Glasgow 2014). Recently we won a bronze medal at the Commonwealth Championships in India.

I’m currently living in Hungary to practice full-time and play for a table tennis team in the first division. This is my 3rd year playing full-time.

When I finished my GCSE’s I decided that I could always go back to studying, but the opportunity for me to play full-time wouldn’t last forever and it was something I dreamt of from the moment I started!

I started playing full-time in Germany, then last year I moved to Sweden, and this year I am in Hungary.

My average day consists of two, two and a half hour training sessions, and some fitness in the gym and service practice.

Why I need your help

Throughout my career I have been mainly funded by my parents and my family. Sport Wales help me with funding, but as a minority sport we don’t get that much attention.

This summer I’m hoping to go to some pre-season camps, and next season I’m hoping to train full-time again, but unfortunately the centre I would like to practice in is very expensive.

I’m hoping to raise some money myself, with your help, through this sports crowdfunding campaign.

With the 2018 Commonwealth Games in mind, these next 2 years are very important and your support would help massively to get me into the best shape possible to medal for Wales.

Thank you for your time,

Charlotte

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBERKW1UB7I
Help this project by sharing

+Achievements

2016 & 2014 National Senior Champion

3x National Junior Champion

4x Under 21 National Champion

4x Mixed and Womens' Doubles National Champion

2x British and Irish Schools Champion

British and Irish Senior Team and Singles Silver Medallist

European Youth Doubles Bronze Medallist

13x World Junior Circuit Medallist

Commonwealth Championships Team Bronze Medallist

World Championships Mixed Doubles Last 32

+Thank Yous and Updates

Senior Title Regained!

Brilliant time at the 2016 Welsh National Championships in May! I regained the Women's Singles title, and retained the Under 21's, Mixed Doubles and Women's Doubles titles.

Create a Campaign Get in touch
close

Looking for more information? Why not send us a quick message below and we'll get back to you shortly.



captcha


They are speaking about us

Design by Lightbox