Masters Champions Since 1997

The first major of the year is soon to be upon us, the Masters Tournament will commence once more on the 7th April.  As the hallowed turf of Augusta National gets ready for the most anticipated tournament of the year, PledgeSports take a trip down “Magnolia” lane and analyse the list of masters champions over the last 20 years of the tournament.

masters 2018

If you suffer from a love/hate relationship with playing golf, then maybe you should take some time to watch the pro’s battle it out at Augusta. It is one of those tournaments that any sports fan adores. Huge crowds gather to witness the world’s best golfers take on what Augusta National throws at them. With that said, only a few players have been lucky enough to claim the green jacket. The most prestigious jacket in all of sport. The last 20 years of the tournament has seen players from all across the globe compete and with that numerous different nationalities have won the event.

Favourites for 2022

It will be all the usuals in 2022, with Rory McIlroy always in contention and looking to end some Majors drought. Collin Morikawa has had an amazing year and is on a serious winning streak, he’s our pick of the bunch.

The 2015 champion Jordan Speith has a stellar record at Augusta. In eight starts he has a win, two runner-up finishes as well as two third places, he’s our second favourite.

World number one and last year’s US Open winner, John Rahm is coming off a massive year, making him a serious Masters contender.

Bryson DeChambeau, Xander Schauffele, and Patrick Cantlay are other top favourites.

The best betting sites for golf

Masters Champions from the last 20 Years –

At PledgeSports, we are golf lovers and we thought it might be of your interest to take a look back at the list of masters champions over the last 20 years. Check it out below –

masters winners

Patrick Reed was the 2018 winner finishing on -15, Ricky Fowler was denied another major, finishing in second place at -14.  Spieth was third with -13.

All you need to know about the US Open

On April 14, 2019, Woods won the Masters, which was his first major championship win in eleven years and his 15th major overall. He finished 13 under par to win by one stroke over Dustin Johnson, Xander Schauffele and Brooks Koepka.

At the 2020 Masters Dustin Johnson broke the scoring record with a 20-under week at Augusta.  Johnson claimed his 24th PGA TOUR win and second major title, winning the Masters by five shots.

The 2021 Masters was won by Hideki Matsuyama, who became the first Japanese male golfer to win a major.  He finished with a 72-hole score of 278 (−10), one shot ahead of Will Zalatoris.

The 2022 winner will be revealed on the 10th of April.

BetMGM Banner

Masters Champions

As you can see the list of Masters champions over the last 20 years show some very familiar faces, Tiger woods claimed his first Masters win in 1997 at only 21 years old, he then went on to secure a further 3 in a eight year period. It may hard to believe Tiger hasn’t won the tournament since 2005.

Phil Mickelson came to light in 2004, winning his first Master’s with a score of -9 around Augusta National. Phil has since won a further two Masters tournaments, the last being in 2010 were he shot a low four rounds of -16. Runner-up Lee Westwood failed to make an impact on the final after leading by as much as 5 shots in round 3. Phil oozed class and shot a 67 in round 4 and won the Masters by 3 shots.

The 10 greatest golfers of all time

Aside from the American duo of Woods and Mickelson, there has been some surprise Masters champions in the last couple of decades. Mike Weir was the first Canadian to claim the green jacket in 2003, Angel Cabrera stunned the crowd in 2009, Charl Schwartzel won his first major in 2011 and more recently Danny Willett in 2016. Willet  was the first english man to win the Masters in 20 years, the last being Sir Nick Faldo. Willett’s victory came as Jordan Speith suffered a surprise collapse on the final day. Speith blow a 5 shot lead as Danny shot a superb bogey free round of 67. A surprise victory to all, albeit well deserved!

masters champion

Image –

Garcia had waited a long time for his first major after being runner up multiple times including a dramatic playoff in 2007 for the Open championship against Padraig Harrington.  However García broke through and won the Masters Tournament with victory on the first sudden-death playoff hole against Justin Rose. García became the third Spanish player to be crowned Masters champion, after Seve Ballesteros and José María Olazábal. The victory also came on what would’ve been Ballesteros’ 60th birthday.

All you need to know about the Ryder Cup

Multiple Champions –

masters champions


Only a select few golfers have managed to claim more than one Masters Tournament. The difficulty to win multiple championships has proven to difficult as we have witness huge leads disappear overnight around Augusta. The legend of golf, Jack Nicklaus leads the way with 6 “Green Jackets”. Some say he will never be caught. Time will tell, Tiger Woods only needs 2 more championship wins to tie with Jack, and Phil needs 3 more.

As we all prepare for another great tournament this April,  we may witness the old veterans close in on Nicklaus’ tally but who’s to say it will not be a new kid on the block that will take Augusta National by storm?

The 5 most mentally challenging sports

PledgeSports is the global leader in crowdfunding & sponsorship for sport.

For all the latest sports news follow PledgeSports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Create a Campaign Get in touch

Looking for more information? Why not send us a quick message below and we'll get back to you shortly.


They are speaking about us

Design by Lightbox