History of the US Open Golf and Winners

The United States Open Championship, commonly known as the U.S. Open, is the open national championship of golf in the United States. It is the third of the four major championships in golf, after the Masters usually held in April, the USPGA in May and before The Open in July. The US open is is on the official schedule of both the PGA Tour and the European Tour.

Where it all began

The first U.S. Open was played on October 4, 1895, on a nine-hole course at the Newport Country Club in Newport, Rhode Island. It was a 36-hole competition and was played in a single day. Only 11 competitors contended for the gold medal on the nine-hole course at the Newport Rhode Island Golf and Country Club, and the first prize for this 36-hole tournament was $150!

Since 1898 the competition has been 72 holes of stroke play (the player with the lowest total number of strokes is the winner). Regional qualifying tournaments have been held since 1924 to keep the number of players manageable, although golfers also become eligible to compete in the US Open by winning specified tournaments.

The US Open in modern times

The championship and third major of the year is staged by the USGA in mid-June, so that if there are no weather delays, the final round is played on the third Sunday, which is Father Day. The U.S. Open is staged at different courses every year and is usually notoriously difficult to play, low scores make very very hard work and premium is placed on accurate driving. As of 2019 the U.S. Open awards a $12.5 million purse, the largest of all 4 major championships and tied for largest of all PGA Tour events with the USPGA also with $12.5 million.

Our pick of the greatest golfers of all time

Most Prolific US Open Winners

Willie Anderson, 1901, 1903, 1904, 1905

Bobby Jones 1923, 1926, 1929, 1930

Ben Hogan 1948, 1950, 1951, 1953

Jack Nicklaus 1962, 1967, 1972, 1980

Hale Irwin 1974, 1979, 1990

Tiger Woods 2000, 2002, 2008

The following players have won the US Open 2 times : Alex Smith, John McDermott, Walter Hagen, Gene Sarazen, Ralph Guldahl, Cary Middlecoff, Julius Boros, Billy Casper, Lee Trevino, Andy North, Curtis Strange, Ernie Els, Lee Janzen, Payne Stewart, Retief Goosen, Brooks Koepka

History of the Ryder Cup and winners

Full List of US Open Winners

1895Horace Rawlins
1896James Foulis
1897Joe Lloyd
1898Fred Herd
1899Willie Smith
1900Harry Vardon (U.K.)
1901Willie Anderson
1902Laurie Auchterlonie
1903Willie Anderson
1904Willie Anderson
1905Willie Anderson
1906Alex Smith
1907Alex Ross
1908Fred McLeod
1909George Sargent
1910Alex Smith
1911John McDermott
1912John McDermott
1913Francis Ouimet
1914Walter Hagen
1915Jerome Travers
1916Chick Evans
1917–18not held
1919Walter Hagen
1920Edward Ray (U.K.)
1921James Barnes
1922Gene Sarazen
1923Bobby Jones
1924Cyril Walker
1925Willie MacFarlane
1926Bobby Jones
1927Tommy Armour
1928Johnny Farrell
1929Bobby Jones
1930Bobby Jones
1931Billy Burke
1932Gene Sarazen
1933Johnny Goodman
1934Olin Dutra
1935Sam Parks, Jr.
1936Tony Manero
1937Ralph Guldahl
1938Ralph Guldahl
1939Byron Nelson
1940Lawson Little
1941Craig Wood
1942–45not held
1946Lloyd Mangrum
1947Lew Worsham
1948Ben Hogan
1949Cary Middlecoff
1950Ben Hogan
1951Ben Hogan
1952Julius Boros
1953Ben Hogan
1954Ed Furgol
1955Jack Fleck
1956Cary Middlecoff
1957Dick Mayer
1958Tommy Bolt
1959Billy Casper
1960Arnold Palmer
1961Gene Littler
1962Jack Nicklaus
1963Julius Boros
1964Ken Venturi
1965Gary Player (S.Af.)
1966Billy Casper
1967Jack Nicklaus
1968Lee Trevino
1969Orville Moody
1970Tony Jacklin (U.K.)
1971Lee Trevino
1972Jack Nicklaus
1973Johnny Miller
1974Hale Irwin
1975Lou Graham
1976Jerry Pate
1977Hubert Green
1978Andy North
1979Hale Irwin
1980Jack Nicklaus
1981David Graham (Austl.)
1982Tom Watson
1983Larry Nelson
1984Fuzzy Zoeller
1985Andy North
1986Ray Floyd
1987Scott Simpson
1988Curtis Strange
1989Curtis Strange
1990Hale Irwin
1991Payne Stewart
1992Tom Kite
1993Lee Janzen
1994Ernie Els (S.Af.)
1995Corey Pavin
1996Steve Jones
1997Ernie Els (S.Af.)
1998Lee Janzen
1999Payne Stewart
2000Tiger Woods
2001Retief Goosen (S.Af.)
2002Tiger Woods
2003Jim Furyk
2004Retief Goosen (S.Af.)
2005Michael Campbell (N.Z.)
2006Geoff Ogilvy (Austl.)
2007Ángel Cabrera (Arg.)
2008Tiger Woods
2009Lucas Glover
2010Graeme McDowell (N.Ire.)
2011Rory McIlroy (N.Ire.)
2012Webb Simpson
2013Justin Rose (U.K.)
2014Martin Kaymer (Ger.)
2015Jordan Spieth
2016Dustin Johnson
2017Brooks Koepka
2018Brooks Koepka

in 2019, Gary Woodland lead the field for nearly the whole weekend, winning the championship on 13 under. He held off a bid for a 3rd US Open title by Brook Koepka who finished second on 10 under.

The 2019 golf rule changes explained

PledgeSports is the global leader in crowdfunding & sponsorship for sport.

Are you or someone you know raising money for sport? If so, get in touch with us via, or visit and hit “Create A Campaign” to start raising money today!

For all the latest sports news follow PledgeSports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Create a Campaign Get in touch

Looking for more information? Why not send us a quick message below and we'll get back to you shortly.


They are speaking about us

Design by Lightbox