History of the Ryder Cup

In case you weren’t aware, there’s a major competition in golf called the Ryder Cup that happens every 2 years!  And the 42nd Ryder Cup Matches will be held in France from 28–30 September 2018 on the Albatros Course of Le Golf National in Guyancour.

History Ryder Cup


The first ever Ryder cup was held at the  Worcester Country Club, in Massachusetts, in 1927 and was won by the Americans.  It’s named after the Englishman Samuel Ryder.  It originally started out as a a competition between the US and UK golfers, however the repeated dominance of the Americans led to a decision to extend the representation of “Great Britain and Ireland” to include continental Europe from 1979.  Since then Since then, the “United States” team has won 8 matches and the “Europe” team has won 10 matches, while retaining the Ryder Cup once with a tie.

It is organised by joint venture of PGA of America and Ryder Cup Europe.

The 5 most costly rule penalties in professional golf

Format of the Ryder Cup

The Ryder Cup format has changed multiple times in tournament history. In the early days golfers at a Ryder Cup played a maximum of two matches each; in some years of the 1960s and 1970s, there were two singles sessions (morning and afternoon) on the final day.  The currently format is as follows: Play takes place over three days and includes foursomes, four-ball and singles match play, a total of 28 matches.  The doubles are played over Days 1 and 2; the singles take place on Day 3.

The 10 Greatest Golfers of all time

Every competition make some exhilarating viewing for golf fans around the world like back in 1969 when the cup was held at Royal Birkdale and 18 of the 32 matches went to the last green!   It was all to be decided in the very last match between the legendary Jack Nicklaus and Tony Jacklin but ended in a tie.


Since the tournament became mainstream event on TV in last 70s and early 80s it started to post profit thanks to highly lucrative TV deals in both Europe and USA. When the Ryder Cup takes place in USA, PGA of America owns the rights and get a 5:1 share of money compared to Europe. While European Ryder Cup retains 60% of the income when it takes place in Europe.  Most of the money comes from TV rights deals followed by sponsorship and ticket sales.  Players don’t currently get paid and there is no prize money, however this may change as players, agents and the organising authorities of Ryder Cup both in US and Europe fighting to get share of the earnings for players.

The biggest athlete sponsorship deals in sport

Cancelled Ryder Cups

With the outbreak of World War 2 the competition was not played in 1939 – 1945, and was resumed  after a decade-long absence in November 1947 at the Portland Golf Club in Portland, Oregon.

On July 8, 2020, the PGA of America announced the postponement of the event to September 24 to 26, 2021, because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The most mentally challenging sports you can play

History Ryder Cup

Future Ryder Cup’s

The 43rd Ryder Cup Matches will be held in the United States from September 25 to 27, 2020, on the Straits course at Whistling Straits.  Padraig Harrington was announced as the European captain in January 2019.

History and previous winners of the US Open Championship

The 44th Ryder Cup Matches will be held in Italy in September 2022 at Marco Simone Golf and Country Club in Guidonia Montecelio near Rome.

2024 and the 45th competition will be played at Bethpage Black, Farmingdale, New York

The 2026 Ryder Cup will see a future to Ireland at the stunning Adare Manor.

The 5 best golf betting sites

The previous winners and locations of the Ryder Cup Since 1927

2018 – Europe

In September 2018 Europe thrashed the United States 17½-10½ to regain the Ryder Cup at Le Golf National in France.

2021 – USA

The 2020 Ryder Cup was postponed due to the pandemic.  In September 2021 in Whistler Straits, the United States went 7–3–2 in singles matches to defeat Europe 19–9. This was the largest margin of victory in a Ryder Cup since the United States beat Great Britain and Ireland by 10 points in 1975.

All you need to know about the Masters

Year  Venue  USA  Eur/GB/GBI  Winners
 2016  Hazeltine National GC  17  11  USA
 Chaska, Minnesota
 2014  Gleneagles  11 ½  16 ½  Europe
 Perthshire, Scotland
 2012  Medinah Country Club  13 ½  14 ½  Europe
 Chicago, Illinois
 2010  The Celtic Manor Resort  13 ½  14 ½  Europe
 City of Newport, Wales
 2008  Valhalla Golf Club  16 ½  11 ½  USA
 Louisville, Kentucky
 2006  The K Club 9 ½ 18 ½  Europe
 Co. Kildare, Ireland
 2004 Oakland Hills CC 9 ½ 18 ½  Europe
 Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
 2002  The Belfry  12 ½  15 ½  Europe
 Sutton Coldfield, England
 1999 The Country Club  14 ½  13 ½  USA
Brookline, MI, USA
 1997 Valderrama GC 13 ½  14 ½  Europe
Sotogrande, Spain
 1995 Oak Hill CC  13 ½  14 ½  Europe
Rochester, NY, USA
 1993 The Belfry 15 13 USA
Sutton Coldfield, England
 1991 The Ocean Course  14 ½  13 ½  USA
Kiawah Island, SC, USA
 1989 The Belfry 14 14 Tied
Sutton Coldfield, England
 1987 Muirfield Village GC 13 15 Europe
Dublin, OH, USA
 1985 The Belfry 11 ½ 16 ½ Europe
Sutton Coldfield, England
 1983 PGA National GC 14 ½ 13 ½ USA
Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA
 1981 Walton Heath GC 18 ½ 9 ½ USA
Surrey, England
 1979 The Greenbrier 17 11 USA
White Sulfer Springs, WV, USA
 1977 Royal Lytham & St Annes 12 ½ USA
St Annes, England
 1975 Laurel Valley GC 21 11 USA
Ligonier, PA, USA
 1973 Muirfield  19  13  USA
Edinburgh, Scotland
 1971 Old Warson CC 18 ½ 13 ½ USA
St Louis, MO, USA
 1969 Royal Birkdale GC 16 16 Tied
Southport, England
 1967 Champions GC 23 ½ 8 ½ USA
Houston, Texas, USA
 1965 Royal Birkdale GC 19 ½ 12 ½ USA
Southport, England
 1963 East Lake CC 23 9 USA
Atlanta, GA, USA
 1961 Royal Lytham & St Anne’s 14 ½ 9 ½ USA
St Annes, England
 1959 Eldorado CC 8 ½ 3 ½ USA
Palm Desert, CA, USA
 1957 Lindrick GC 4 ½ 7 ½ GB&I
Yorkshire, England
 1955 Thunderbird CC 8 4 USA
Palm Springs, CA, USA
 1953 Wentworth GC 6 ½ 5 ½ USA
Surrey, England
 1951 Pinehurst GC 9 ½ 2 ½ USA
Pinehurst, NC, USA
 1949 Ganton GC  7  5
Scarborough, England USA
 1947 Portland GC  11  1
Portland, OR, USA USA
 1937 Southport & Ainsdale GC 8 4 USA
Southport, England
 1935 Ridgewood CC 9 3 USA
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
 1933 Southport & Ainsdale GC 5 ½ 6 ½ GB&I
Southport, England
 1931 Scioto CC 9 3 USA
Columbus, OH, USA
 1929 Moortown GC 5 7 GB&I
Leeds, England
 1927 Worcester CC 9 ½ 2 ½ USA
Worcester, MA, USA

PledgeSports is the global leader in crowdfunding & sponsorship for sport.

For all the latest sports news follow PledgeSports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Create a Campaign Get in touch

Looking for more information? Why not send us a quick message below and we'll get back to you shortly.


They are speaking about us

Design by Lightbox