Rugby World Cup 2019 and previous winners

Rugby World Cup 2011

With lot’s of new nations rising through the ranks of rugby, the Rugby World Cup 2019 is set to be the biggest rugby event in the history of the game. There are now 30 rugby playing countries around the world with 20 of these qualifying for this years World Cup.

The Rugby World Cup is hosted once every four years and held over the course of seven weeks, it’s now the 7th largest sporting event in the world after the summer Olympics and Football World Cup etc.

The history of rugby


Rugby World Cup 2019

The 2019 tournament will start on 20th September (Fri) and end on 2nd November (Sat), 2019. There are 20 participating teams:

The 20 participating teams in the Rugby World Cup 2019

There are a total of 48 matches which will be held across 12 venues across Japan.

1 Pool stages: 4 pools of 5 teams, 40 pool matches in total.

2 Finals: Quarter finals, semi finals, bronze final, finals.


Current Rankings

At the time of writing New Zealand are the top ranked team, they have been the most consistently ranked #1 team since the introduction of IRB World Rankings, having held the #1 ranking for more than 85 percent of the time during this period. South Africa and England make up the remainder.

Wales are ranked 2nd, Ireland 3rd, England 4th and South Africa 4th

List of 6 Nations winners since 2000



2019 World Cup Pools


Previous World Cup Winners

New Zealand have not surprisingly been the dominant force throughout the history of the Rugby World Cup with 3 titles

The greatest rugby players of all time

1987 New Zealand France Wales Australia
1991 Australia  England New Zealand Scotland
1995 South Africa  New Zealand France England
1999 Australia  France South Africa New Zealand
2003 England  Australia New Zealand France
2007 South Africa  England Argentina France
2011 New Zealand  France Australia Wales
2015 New Zealand  Australia South Africa Argentina

The 2023 World Cup will be held in France and the the 2027 tournament is yet undecided.

The rise of Rugby in America

It’s all over now and South Africa beat England in a brilliant  2019 World Cup Final 32-12

PledgeSports is the global leader in crowdfunding & sponsorship for sport.

Are you or someone you know raising money for sport? If so, get in touch with us via, or visit and hit “Create A Campaign” to start raising money today!

For all the latest sports news follow PledgeSports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Create a Campaign Get in touch

Looking for more information? Why not send us a quick message below and we'll get back to you shortly.


They are speaking about us

Design by Lightbox