List of 6 Nations Winners Since 2000

The 6 Nations is the most important annual rugby tournament in the Northern Hemisphere, every year rugby fans and nations band together to watch this great iconic sports spectacle.  Ireland dominated last year winning the Grand Slam, but no side has won back-to-back Grand Slams in the Six Nations era – the last side to do it in the Five Nations were the French class of 1997 and 1998. Ireland seems better set than anyone to achieve the feat this year.

Let’s dive into the list of 6 Nations Winners from the tournament since 2000 and see if you can remember some of these famous tournament wins.


Most 6 Nations Wins – 

England 7

France 5

Wales 6

Ireland 4

Scotland 0

Italy 0

Great rugby rivalries

2000 Winners – England

England were champions of the 2000 6 Nations. This was the first time the tournament included Italy. Scotland denied England of the famous Grand Slam on the final day. Over 75 tries were scored in the tournament an average of 5 per match.

2001 Winners – England

England dominated again, they now had won the tournament back to back. Yet again, England was defeated on the last day by Ireland and denying them the elusive Grand Slam.

Top 6 Nations try scorers

2002 Winners – France

France were the 2002 6 Nations winners and in doing so completed the Grand Slam. Gerald Merceron was their top point scorer with 80 points for all of the tournament.

2003 Winners – England

For the third time in 4 years, England were 6 Nations winners. A year that saw England win the Grand Slam and also the Rugby World Cup. Jonny Wilkinson was their top point scorer with 77 points.

2004 Winners – France

France won the 2004 6 Nations with another Grand Slam at that. Ireland however won the Triple Crown as Gordan Darcy was the player of the tournament.

Champions Cup winners since 1995

2005 Winners – Wales

For the first time since the new 6 Nations, Wales were champions. Wales claimed the Grand Slam whilst playing more away games than home games. A tremendous achievement.

2006 Winners – France

France claimed the 2006 6 Nations by the narrowest of margins with a points difference over Ireland. Ireland received the Triple Crown and Brian O’Driscoll was player of the tournament.

The history of rugby

2007 Winners – France

France yet again claimed the top spot in the 2007 6 Nations. Ireland were runners-up when only points separated them from France to win the trophy. Yet again, Brian O’Driscoll was player of the tournament.

2008 Winners – Wales


Image – Jonny Wilkinson kicks a penalty versus Scotland in the 2008 Rugby 6 Nations

After 15 games, it was Wales who were tournament champions, Grand Slam champions, and Triple Crown champions. Shane Williams of Wales was player of the tournament.

We analyse the fitness of modern day rugby players

2009 Winners – Ireland


Ireland joined the list of 6 Nations Winners in 2009 for a second time. Their first win since the 1948 tournament. Ireland also claimed the Grand Slam with a sensational win over Wales in Cardiff. For the third time in four years, Brian O’Driscoll was player of the tournament.

The greatest rugby players of all time

2010 Winners – France

France won the 2010 6 Nations and claimed a 12-10 victory over England on the final day to ensure that the Grand Slam was theirs. Ireland were runners-up with 3 victories and 2 defeats.

2011 Winners – England

England were the 2011 6 Nations winners and for the first time in the tournaments history, the opening match was played on a Friday night. Chris Ashton was England’s top try scorer with 6 tries.

2012 Winners – Wales


Pictured above is Welshman Sam Warburton being presented with the 6 Nations trophy. With over 1 million people in attendance, the 2012 6 Nations was one of the biggest tournaments of it’s time. Wales clinched their third Grand Slam in eight tournaments.

The richest rugby clubs in Europe

2013 Winners – Wales

For the first time since 1978, Wales had won back-to-back titles. France finished last in the table and collected the wooden spoon. Ireland also suffered a poor campaign and came fifth. Italy had one of their best tournament and came fourth.

2014 Winners – Ireland

Going into the final day, three teams could have still won the championship. Only points difference separated England and Ireland on the day and Ireland were crowned champions. Brian O’Driscoll also retired on the final day of the tournament after an incredible 133 caps for Ireland.

2015 Winners – Ireland

Ireland retained their title from the previous year and it was their 13th title in the competition overall and their third since the 6 Nations had begun. Paul O’Connell was the player of the tournament and the George Ford of England was the top points scorer with 75 points.

The 10 most successful rugby clubs in Europe

2016 Winners – England

England were crowned Champions on 13 March with a game to play, winning their first Championship since 2011. By the last game, England has won their first Grand Slam since 2003. It was also the first time in the tournament’s history that the champions and the wooden spoon was decided before the final round of games.

2017 Winners – England

For the second successive year, the championship was won by England with a round to spare. Ireland stood in their way of a back-to-back Grand Slam which broke English hearts. It was the third time the Irish have denied England of a Grand Slam on the final day.

The highest paid players in 2018

2018 Winners – Ireland

Third time winning the 6 Nations Championship in the last 5 years, Ireland dominated the 2018 campaign. The Grand Slam was at stake on St.Patrick’s Day at Twickenham as the Irish came up trumps and defeating the English on their home soil. 5 wins from 5 see Ireland claim the Grand Slam and now move up to number 2 in the world rankings.

2019 Winners – Wales

Wales had a flawless tournament with a clean swipe win over every team to win a well deserved Grand Slam.

2020 Winners – England

2020 – The pandemic year was a right mess, but a much disrupted the Six Nations finally got played and finished!  England won the championship but no grand slam title.

2021 Winners – Wales

Wales celebrated their second Championship success in three years as the title all came down to Scotland beating France in Paris in their re-arranged Round 3 encounter.

It’s Wales sixth Championship title in 16 years and their first under head coach Wayne Pivac.


It was France’s year, they remained unbeaten and won their first Grand Slam since 2010, defeating England 25–13 at the Stade de France.  Ireland came in second winning the Triple Crown.

Rugby terminology you need to know

PledgeSports is the global leader in crowdfunding & sponsorship for sport.

For all the latest sports news follow PledgeSports on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Create a Campaign Get in touch

Looking for more information? Why not send us a quick message below and we'll get back to you shortly.


They are speaking about us

Design by Lightbox